Edinburgh Royal Mile-New Year’s Eve 2011

I’ve posted another image from my Edinburgh sketch book produced whilst on holiday over New Year. This view is up the Royal Mile towards the castle. Very busy and pretty.

20 Replies to “Edinburgh Royal Mile-New Year’s Eve 2011”

  1. I like this drawing very much…It reminds me of being there 3 years ago on our tour…except the Tattoo was due to start in a few days and there were so many people one could not move or turn around….I did find a shirt with Scotland printed on it…We were trying to avoid the crowds but our walking tour of Scotland was cancelled and we ended up on a bus tour that put us into the heart of nearly every big event.
    I think we stayed at Blair Castle and I got a terrific massage session for my swollen feet and legs?
    I just have to come back and explore
    Thank you for sharing

    1. The Royal Mile can become very congested. We always visit during the summer months for the Fringe Festival, the children love it. I bet your bus tour of Scotland was fun. The older I get, the less driving becomes enjoyable. I’ve yet to visit Blair Castle, some of the really old castles are very interesting.

  2. Hi Keith. I absolutely love this sketch. I’m just sorry it has taken me so long to tell you so. There is something so alive about it that I can almost hear the sounds of the bustling street. I like the architecture alot. Was it raining? Btw, I’m settled in a new home now and have your painting in an even better location, next to my piano, where I enjoy it every day! 🙂

  3. Thanks Amber. Yes, it was very wet but it didn’t spoil our little holiday. This was my favourite too. I arranged for a large canvas print from a scan of the sketch. The original is only A6 in size, yet the enlargement looked even better. Pleased you’re all settled in. I’m going to send you an email as I have a little something for you.

Leave a Reply

