Postcards of pigs

I like pigs. Dogs look up to us. Cats look down on us. Pigs treat us as equals.Sir Winston Churchill
British politician (1874 – 1965)

18 Replies to “Postcards of pigs”

  1. Both of these pig studies are so interesting to look at. I like pigs, too, Keith. A friend of mine had a pet pig. Actually they are very smart and that pig adored her. I like the value changes in this one……and the one in the foreground looking at us.

    1. They are great fun to draw. I likened them to my life drawing back in art college, there are so many similarities to drawing the human body. I’m also working on a large canvas which is very much WIP. Thanks as always Leslie.

  2. Honestly Keith, I don’t know which of these two I like better. So sticking to the one at hand I will first say I too like that one looking out to us in the foreground. But as always I love the way you draw these. You make it look so easy, but it only is for you. I love the postcard.

    1. I’m pleased you enjoyed the little pig study Debbie. I don’t find anything easy and only show the better sketches, some of the pigs in the earlier sketches look like guinea pigs. I keep trying and appreciate your support.

  3. I never heard that quote before. I don’t know much about pigs so I will have to take your (and Sir Winston Churchill’s) word for it.

    I truly love your drawings of animals and this one is no exception. With some pen strokes and shading you have given us a wonderful picture of pigs.

  4. “Smartest animal on the farm” a farmer once said to me about his enormous sow. As an art student, a friend and I used to skip class for a week in November to draw the critters at the Royal Winter Fair, our largest agricultural fair. Learned a lot and never forgot the fragrances.
    Love your pig studies.
    P.S. Postcards aren’t sent yet as I’m doing a new one and want to include it in the package. Soon.

    1. Thanks Barry, I’ve found them to be a fascinating subject, although getting to know them has proved tricky requiring some courage when they surge in numbers.
      Looking forward to the arrival of the postcards. Hope you are well.

  5. Hi. Like Winston Churchill, I like pigs, not that I have had any experience with the real creatures, just sketches and stories. My mom had a pet pig named Gordy who used to meet her and walk her home from school! Jane

    1. I’ve spent more time than is possibly healthy studying pigs this summer. New subjects happen by chance, come the Autumn we’re planning a trip to Scotland. I sense Red Deer on the horizon. I think Gordy is a great name for a pig.

Leave a Reply

