Teesdale Rain

We had some very wet weather yesterday in Teesdale, this painting shows how it all began -before becoming much worse! The becks and streams quickly swelled becoming white torrents.

Rain Coming

Whilst driving back this afternoon from a meeting in Newbiggen,  I noticed a steady stream (no pun) of cars strapped with canoes (I think they’re called canoes or kayaks ) all making their way up the valley to Low Force.

In my opinion, I find some of the Teesdale kayaking behaviour less than considerate. Often I’ve been overtaken on a blind bend only to find they’ve pulled up on the roadside only a few yards further on! There are a few (just a few) who also enjoying jumping from the Wynch Bridge, in their wets suits, hard hats and arms bands into the boiling waters below! The bridge becomes very slippery . It fails to impress me and there’s an accident waiting to happen. Please remember the countryside is for all to enjoy and that Peg Powler is watching you!

A few more sketches from this week.

17 Replies to “Teesdale Rain”

  1. I want a little house in a pastoral scene like this… sigh…
    So beautiful. I love the gentle feel of this scene and the subtle detail in the sky you just KNOW is rain. Of course, from the sound of the torrents, the scene didn’t stay gentle for long! Just googled Peg Powler. Um…yikes! Definitly not one to tango with…

    1. Thank you Amber. We’ve had so much rain these last few days. Today was our first dry day- but very cold! Peg Powler is an old story to keep children away from the river bank- or so they say! Like every good witch story, it captures the imagination. Sometimes when I’m alone on certain stretches of the river Tees I sense a shiver (probably just the cold) 🙂

  2. The rolling landscape and the divisions of space are so captivating in this. I don’t blame you. I could live here. I would want a few more trees, though. How come there are large stretches of open land and no trees, Keith? I’ve noticed that. Is the ground too rocky?

    1. Man cleared the woods in Teesdale to improve hunting opportunities, and later to provide extended grazing-range for domestic livestock. Settlers followed the first hunter-gathererers. They cleared areas in woods which allowed patches of fresh grass to grow and that attracted herbivores, which were easier to kill. I think the forests were cleared from the early Mesolithic period (middle stone age) onwards. Peat growth, which followed, has prevented the regeneration of the original woodland.

      Often while walking in such areas it’s possible to find traces of the forest. There are a few good places I know where you can see a cross section through the peat where the rain has carved through. Pieces of birch wood can be found buried in the peat proving the area that is now peat was once wooded. A few trees survive, mostly along the river or on hill sides too steep to clear. I find it incredible that this vast area could be de-forested by so few people.

  3. Wow. A whole woodland. POOF! I wondered if this was the case, but you also paint rocks and boulders which made me think that perhaps that was the reason. Thanks for answering this, Keith. I was truly interested in why all the open space.

  4. To me canoeing is getting on a lake or river an paddling around to look at the shoreline to be with Mother Nature. I’m guessing that the boats are Kayaks and are used a lot of times for white water river trips.

    How ever I didn’t plan to talk so much about that it was your painting that brought me back to when I visited Britain. Fond memories Thanks.

    1. Thank you Richard. Yes, I think you’re correct ‘kayaks’. On reflection I believe my original post has no place here. It was written in anger and frustration against a few selfish individuals. This blog was intended to be a simple diary of my wonderings, thoughts and paintings (not in that particular order ) of the North Pennines. I will edit the content and return to my more sedate tone. Thank you for your reply.

  5. Keith, I have not been able to blog for a week or two and my goodness have I missed alot. Your recent work with pen and ink is really impressive. Good perspective and nice technique. I feel very lucky that you are sharing your beautiful environment with me.

    1. Hi Linda, Pleased to see you back blogging. I’ve just visited your site and I love some of your recent work. It’s great to have you as a follower too! Really enjoyed your paintings from the park. I keep bumbling along- there’s so much inspiration from other people.

  6. This is an excellent depiction of the rain coming. It’s look to me like you country-side looks like it does around here. This is just how it looks going down to road when we have to go to town, especially when it’s going to rain.
    Well done, Keith. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

