Teesdale Pen and Ink

I’ve been following Barry Coomb’s blog with great interest, becoming fascinated by his ‘development of values with cool grey washes’ Laying down the light and shadows first is yet another approach totally new to me. If you haven’t already visited Barry’s blog here’s a link: http://barrycoombs.wordpress.com/

I’m waiting until I find a good subject before attempting. The scene attached might work. However I produced this picture before following Barry’s blog in such detail. One thing which surprised me with this painting was lack of scale. I hadn’t noticed when painting, but my wife thought the rock face to be huge, where in fact it was just a jumble of boulders each no bigger than a football.

It sort of makes the picture look a bit silly now, but I posted all the same. Another thing Barry mentions is how easy it is to overwork an image with pen. I tried to show restraint with this effort, where as my previous oak was slightly over -the –top!

Small rocks-big view
12 Replies to “Teesdale Pen and Ink”

  1. I too thought the rock face was a huge boulder, but I don’t think it makes the scene silly at all. Sometimes a lack of scale is a bit fun, even mischevious in portraying a scene 😉 I have a rather silly one of a tiny sand dune here that this post reminded me of: http://aswirly.wordpress.com/2010/03/14/mini-desert/

    I really enjoy your framing in this scene, how we catch a glimpse of the beautiful valley below and I love how the direction of the grasses and strokes in the sky creates wind! Thanks for introducing me to Barry’s blog. What an inspiration!

    1. I thought your sand dune/mountain was brilliant! Very clever. I love the light in all your work especially the landscapes and ocean. Barry is nearly as clever as you 🙂 His pen and ink work is superb. Did you see the class he took where they all produced pictures of teddy bears? Thanks again Amber. I always appreciate your constructive feedback.

  2. Since I wouldn’t have known what size the rock was, I like that it’s big…it gives a good perspective to your painting.

    Thanks for the link to Barry Coombs. Interesting stuff.

  3. I have visited Barry’s blog, often, and enjoy it very much! I enjoy your boulder very much and do not think it imbalances the scene. It draws me to it to view the valley beyond. Your oak looks fine to me! 🙂

    1. Ever since you first sent a link to Barry’s blog, I’ve followed with great interest. I’m really interested in the way he paints the light and shade first. Have you tried this too? Thank you for your feedback. I think the oak was slightly overworked, but I wasn’t focused and emotion drove the pen that day.

      1. Yes, but differently. I always try to select a pathway that is lighter. In the recent painting of the Amstutz Field it is that area of field that I led to with the darks in the foreground. I think I spoke of it in my explanation. On figures, I usually carve out the lights with light colors, leaving the areas I want to be light, at the end, to be the white of the paper. I can paint into that later and sometimes do, but it remains lighter. It is more difficult to do in plein air painting so I try to use light colors in light areas and darks in darker areas.

      2. I’m coming round to a different way of thinking after speaking to both yourself and Barry. I’m planning a new approach for this week influenced by both of you! The results may or may not be posted! Thanks again for the valuable insight into your methodology, its really interesting to read the planning behind your work and how you approach each subject.

  4. The rock looks big but not huge because of the length of the grass beside it. If you’d made that a bit longer, it would have made the rock look smaller. Another thing that would’ve helped (I think, but am just guessing really) would be to have extended the blue of the sky upwards more and made the distant view slightly blurry; that would have given a sense of distance. But it is what it is, and you’ve done a good job on it anyway.
    🙂

    1. Thank you Val, the blurry distance seems so obvious now you mention it, and I’m sure it would have helped. I was so focused on the group of small rocks I literally didn’t see the bigger picture. Thanks again for your feedback- always appreciated.

Leave a Reply

