Bluebell Wood-Teesdale

Bluebell Wood-Teesdale Autumn

I’ve had an idea for a while, (rekindled by Leslie) that I might try painting the same scene in different seasons. Amber has also given me confidence, pointing out other people’s paintings can remind us of episodes from our own past. With all this in mind, I decided to paint the Bluebell wood in Teesdale in autumn, and without the Bluebells. I have a sketch from the summer showing the Bluebells in the same wood which I’ll post tomorrow. Come winter, I’ll paint another. I’m so excited about this mini project.

10 Replies to “Bluebell Wood-Teesdale”

  1. Ooooh what a cool idea and I’m excited to see this mini series unfold. Does it snow there in winter? I love the depth of the painting, how it draws me right into the forest. DO you use ink WITH watercolor?

    1. Hi Amber, Yes, Teesdale enjoys lots of snow during winter. Often the roads become impassible for days- weeks! The area where the Bluebell wood is situated,
      sits upon a ridge high above the river. An ancient forest that survived the tree felling over thousands of years! I drew the scene in pen using a special ink
      the doesn’t smudge when you apply the water-colour. It looks a bit like a Winnie the Pho scene!

      1. I was so inspired by this I went out and bought a pen today to try. I…um… got carried away with the paint though till I drowned out the lines and made mud. oops. lol. I’ll practice. Thanks for the inspiration!

    1. Thank you Leslie, I’m looking forward to painting the wood through the seasons. I liked your idea of using different mediums.
      I’m off to follow the link. Thanks again for your feedback. Always appreciated.

  2. I like returning to various spots & painting them in diffrent seasons too. Have you seen Hockney’s Woldgate Woods series?
    These woods must look really spectacular with the bluebells in flower- it’s one of the things I miss of not living in England! In general though, I think the forest looks beautiful whatever the season, there’s always something to appreciate.

    1. Hello Sonya, Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog. I really appreciate the feedback. I watched the TV documentary on Hockney’s woods, I’d forgotten all about it, but think it must have inspired me to start this project. Hockney’s canvasses were huge. I remember the view was through a tunnel of trees and painted through the seasons. My Bluebell wood is pat of a much older forest, areas of which are reputed to be haunted! (aren’t they all). I’m really pleased you enjoyed the post.

Leave a Reply

