Tree and Drumlin-Teesdale

This painting is a work in progress (I think!), produced from a photograph taken in mid summer at Low Force, Teesdale, when the drumlin was carpeted in buttercups and red clover. The simplicity was the real challenge,

Tree and drumlin

with my mind  firmly set on the way I wanted to paint. It’s part there, but still with some way to go. I painted the sky almost in reverse, laying down the pale blue first, then painting the white cloud on top. It’s one of the many acrylics on canvas, that will no doubt find a home behind the piano, never seeing the light of day.

7 Replies to “Tree and Drumlin-Teesdale”

  1. OMG! This is gorgeous, Keith! It better go on a wall! I love the sky! It’s huge and the landscape is so much what I envision you painting in your area. I want to sit under the trees there. This needs to hang on a wall and not be behind any piano.

  2. Thank you Leslie. Looking back, I wish I’d made less of the foreground and more of the sky, but I did so want to get the drumlin as part of the painting. I have loads of paintings hidden behind the piano. They take up so much room, and I have no space to store. I might try sellingl a couple or even give a few away.

    Appreciate your feedback as always.

  3. I like the simplicity & the luminosity you’ve captured here. The wispy clouds work very well – I don’t find it strange at all that you’ve started with the blue & then layed the white clouds on top – in fact I can’t imagine how you could really do it any other way! Will you paint this throughout the seasons too?

    1. Hi Sonya, I found this picture challenging on many levels. Truth is, I’m simply not a good enough painter to be able to pull off a painting which only has a single tree. I still enjoyed painting it though. It probably looks better on your monitor than it does in the flesh. Plus, I’ve mostly worked in watercolour and ink, so laying down the dark colours first is very new to me. I’m really pleased you enjoyed the post. Don’t become a stranger.

Leave a Reply

