North Yorkshire Folk

North Yorkshire Folk

I produced this line wash a few days ago, (long after I took the picture), under the light of my lamp after the family had retired to bed. I wanted to peer over my shoulder, to look back at winter and prepare myself for what’s to come. The last of the courgettes have already been eaten. For me, that’s a sure sign the best days of summer have past, ticking away like the hours on a clock. I hate the way summer’s so easily swallowed by autumn. August is filled with the sound of children, but it’s like the sand of an egg timer, slow but certain.

September is drawing, winter took so long to leave us this year I feel robbed of the early days of spring that lessened the days of summer. This painting is therapy. I want to wilt with the flowers and emerge again in the spring. To know only warm days and bright light. Animals, which hibernate, know what they do. I too want to hide away from what’s to come.

11 Replies to “North Yorkshire Folk”

  1. Your painting and words are both very expressive. My feelings are similar b ut in Indiana we feel like we went from a long, extremely cold and snowy winter to an oppressive hot and humid summer with nothing in between. I long for a fragrant, crisp, sunny fall. I guess we humans are never satisfied, are we?

    1. Hello Linda, many thanks for your kind words. I love the Autumn colours, but hate Winter. Autumn just seems to be arriving too fast this year. I don’t feel I’ve had enough sun to keep my going through the dark days of winter. I guess you’re right. It should be easy to be happy, but it never is!

    2. Hello Linda, many thanks for your kind words. I love the Autumn colours, but hate Winter. Autumn just seems to be arriving too fast this year. I don’t feel I’ve had enough sun to keep my going through the dark days of winter. I guess you’re right. It should be easy to be happy, but it never is!

  2. Your people never fail to intrigue me, Keith. I know how difficult it is to weed out all the extras and come up with a grouping that is interesting. Wonder what the guy to the left has turned his head to look at other than you, the photographer (the painting makes me wonder more). The couple on the right are talking about something, casual I think by the expression on the man’s face. And where is the figure in the center heading? I like your people groupings.

    1. Thank you Leslie. Your opinion is very important to me. I look at your own work and try to take in everything you say. I remember the footpath that draws you in. I think of that often when I paint. I too like paintings which tell a story, or suggest a moment captured. I also really like the way you’ve looked at the figures and worked out your own theory on what’s happening. Please keep your feedback coming through. It really helps.

    1. It was a terrible winter stretching, through what should have been spring. We also had a bereavement in the family which made the darkness seem worse. I too like October and November, especially around deciduous forest or in the Lake District. The North Pennines are a great place to wonder in the early days of Autumn. Crisp mornings with a distance to cover and a couple of beers to make the end of the day worth while. (Perhaps a few more than a couple).

  3. Just keep on what you are doing love you people.

    I find the summer too busy to do a lot of painting so I take photos with the hope of finding some worth painting. I was going to do some out door painting but that went by the wayside. Oh well.

  4. I am fascinated by this image. Capturing the essence of people in a photograph is challenging, but in a painting? Oh man… With a sublety this image incites curiosity as to what the turned man is thinking, and the couple chatting about… And I am intrigued as to how you made it look rainy.

    1. Hello Amber, I take lots of pictures without people knowing, a few realise and take exception, but on the whole I manage to get away with it… well mostly! I look for stories within the picture,
      sometimes they’re easy to spot others not so, but each painting should hold a story however small. I also enjoy painting people with winter clothing, hats, coats etc. I use both a hard and very soft pencil in most of my work. I add the graphite at the end. It’s always a dangerous part of each painting, I ruin so many. It always rains in Whitby 😦

Leave a Reply

