Devils-Bit Scabious

Not an exact representation of this common wild perennial, but it was a roasting hot day in the summer of 2008, so I’m allowing myself some artist license.  When my paintings divorce from any real physical likeness, I like to pretend I was looking for an abstract quality. So this is it, ‘Abstract Devils-Bit”.  I’d spent the day walking along the River Tees from Holwick Bridge, down to Middleton in Teesdale. There was an abundance of wild beautiful flowers, but this chap caught my eye. I’ve promised myself I’ll paint another this summer.

Devils-Bit Teesdale (Ink)
2 Replies to “Devils-Bit Scabious”

  1. What I love most about this fascinating flower, aside from the glorious color, is the feel of movement the background brings, as if everything is being swept away. It’s… ink? Did you paint another this summer? 😉 I’m looking forward to seeing more of the assemblage. Local plants always have a story. I’m quite fond of our native flora here, but my friends think they’re just weeds. lol

    1. Hi Amber, Yes, I painted the Devil’s-Bit Scabious in ink. Its a great medium to work in, but difficult to use outdoors as the inks come in small jars. I don’t think you could use my painting to ID the flower, far too abstract! I took lots of pictures this year, but alas no painting of the same flower. Our Teesdale Assemblage contains many rare ice flowers. Birds Eye Primrose and the Spring Gentian are very special, lasting only a few brief weeks of the year. All weeds are plants, just planted in the wrong place! I’d love to hear about some of your own flora.

Leave a Reply

