Baldersdale, North Pennines

This picture shows one of my favorite places in Teesdale and the North Pennines, (which also falls into the AONB,  a designated ‘Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty).  The view looks down Blackton Reservoir, once the home of Hannah Hauwell. There’s so much to see in this part of the world, and if you can get here in hay time, you’ll be rewarded with some of the best hay meadows in the UK.  You can park your car at Balderhead Reservoir and take a short walk down behind the dam to the bridge at the Nature Reserve. Follow the sign through the gate and you’ll come across Hannah’s Meadow, a fantastic spot for meadow flowers. If I could choose to live anywhere in the world it would be here. These fields were farmed using traditional methods, without the use of modern day artificial fertilisers. The meadows are species rich and  home to many breeding birds such as, lapwing, redshank, meadow pipit and skylark. There are many flowering plants including globeflower, wood anemone, ragged robin This area marks a turning point if your journey takes you further up the Tees Valley. Everything after Baldersdale becomes wilder and more remote. The original painting was sent to a friend in California who came to visit us in 2008.

Baldersdale (Watercolour)
6 Replies to “Baldersdale, North Pennines”

  1. Hello! I’ve just been scrolling through looking and looking and loving Your art! I told Leslie that I particularly like the colours You use……my son and got to spend seven weeks backpacking around Your neck of the woods quite few years ago. It’s gorgeous….and the colours You use just FEEEEELLLLL so much like what I remember. The sheep in Your header gave me a great laugh as well. I hadn’t noticed them the first time I came by here. Wonderful! I am cowrazy honoured that You added me to Your blogroll. You are on mine as well!!! Thank You and Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    1. I’m so pleased and flattered that you enjoyed my blog. Where did your son stay? With regards to colours, I work with ink a lot in my paintings
      in particular I use ‘Peat’ ink as the basis for a lot of the wash work, as peat is the common colour in the North Pennine landscape.
      Pleased you’ve included me on your blog. I also love your work and appreciate the complex thought level behind your work. Very inspirational!

      Best
      Keith

  2. This is such a gorgeous painting Keith! This certainly looks like an ideal place to live and your description of the meadows and birds…how I’d love to visit. I’m ashamed to say I hadn’t heard of Hannah Hauxwell until now… OMG, WOW! AND, watching the video clip I realize how differently I have been pronouncing Pennines in my head. hehe… Your friend must have been thrilled to have received this lovely painting.

    1. Hannah Hauxwell endured a hard life on her own in Baldersdale. When I was only a boy my dad would chat to her while we fished the lake. I’m pleased you like my humble painting. My friend from California was delighted. We took him for a walk along Hadrian’s Wall when he visited, he was so moved and grateful I promise to send him a painting of Baldersdale. As always , your kind comments are much appreciated. I’ve been too preoccupied with work to make any new posts and our weather has been awful! So no walks for now.

Leave a Reply

