My first post

High Force

Well here it is, my first post on my new blog. I’m an artist living in the North East of England. Two of my passions are painting and the North Pennines. By combining them both, I have a hobby that’s seems to be slowly turning into a full time career.

After leaving art college in the mid eighties, I’ve spent the past 25 years working in advertising as a designer/art director. I enjoy my work but also enjoy spending as much of my spare time painting in the  North Pennines.

I work mostly in watercolours, inks and acrylics. Over the years my style has changed, becoming very loose, almost impressionistic. Click on any of the images for a larger picture. Influences include; Heaton Cooper, Norman Cornish, the Glasgow Boys and many others.

I hope by starting this blog, I might in time build up a community of like minded people who enjoy painting and drawing in the outdoors. Perhaps even sharing the occasional tip or two! All of the paintings you see on this blog are for sale (except those of my children). Some of the originals may already be sold. Even so, I have a limited number of prints available, all reproduced on ‘Bockingford watercolour paper’. They offer an affordable alternative to the originals and will include my personal signature and print number. Please email me at: northpenninegallery@googlemail.com

3 Replies to “My first post”

  1. I’m glad I found your blog, it’s interesting – You live in a beautiful area, I’m not surprised you want to spend lots of time outdoors & in painting it. (Although as an ex-art student also of the mid 80’s I remember many very wet summers spent in the North York Moors – your drawing of people all wrapped up in Whitby is definately reminiscent for me!

    1. Hi Sonya, 80’s art students the both of us 🙂 You’ll be familiar with the cold north sea and freezing cold rain that makes this part of the world…well, wet! It’s a lovely part of the world in which to live, plus, I’ve learnt to paint with gloves that have no fingers! Thanks again for visiting. Please keep making the journey over to my blog whenever you have chance. It’s great to make friends with so many nice people.

Leave a Reply

